The honorary Arch of Augustus dedicated to the Emperor Augustus was erected to celebrate the defeat of the proud local population, Salassi. The monument, which changed during centuries, consists of a single round arch framed by half-columns and surmounted by Corinthian capitals and crowned by a Doric trabeation.
In its origin the upper section of the arch had an attic with a commemorative inscription written in bronze lettering.
During Middle Ages was positioned a Crucifix on it to protect the town from flooding by the Buthier river.
The Arch of Augustus was restored between 1912-1913 and some excavation nearby brought to light two large letters in gilded bronze, which formed part of the dedicatory inscription.
Discover here the guided tour of the Roman and Medieval town of Aosta