Guided Tour of the Saint Pierre Castle
Thanks to its fairytale appearance, the castle of Saint Pierre is really unique.
Considered one of the oldest in the Aosta Valley, the castle of Saint-Pierre should date back to the 12th century as in a document appear the names of the de Sancti Petri brothers, co-owners of part of the castle. Over the centuries the castle belonged to many and powerful aristocratic families including the Counts of Savoy ant the Lords of Challant.
Finally, it was its last owner, Baron Emanuele Bollati, who entrusted the esthetic renovation of the castle to the architect Camillo Boggio in 1873. The architect, following typically romantic canons, added four small circular towers to the corners, giving the building the its fairytale appearance.
The castle of Saint-Pierre houses the renovated layout of the Regional Museum of Natural Sciences
The guided tour of the castle of Saint Pierre follows two interpretations: on the one hand the architecture of the castle and the frescoed rooms tell the centenary history of this iconic residence, on the other hand the Regional Museum of Natural Sciences is an immersive journey into the Aosta Valley environment.
Discover here the guided tours of all the castles of the Aosta Valley